In Florida, car and truck owners must carry a type of no-fault insurance protection known as PIP

Since automobiles first hit the road, driving has always been associated with some risks of accident and injury. To help address those risks, insurance companies in Florida and other states require drivers to have specific amounts of insurance on their vehicles to help mitigate accident-related costs.

In Florida, car and truck owners must carry a type of no-fault insurance protection known as “PIP,” or personal injury protection. With PIP, in the event of an accident, a driver’s own insurance would pay for a specified amount of accident-related costs, including medical and funeral costs and lost wages, regardless of whether the driver was at fault or not. Under current Florida law, all drivers must carry PIP in the amount of $10,000. That means that the driver’s own insurance will pay for injuries and lost wages up to $10,000, no matter who caused the accident.

Amendments to Florida’s PIP laws – made largely in response to pressure from insurance companies seeking to limit their losses – have made it more difficult to collect damages following a motor vehicle accident. In 2012, the state legislature passed new regulations requiring accident victims to seek medical treatment within 14 days of an accident in order to be eligible for PIP payments. In addition, in order to be eligible for the full $10,000 in PIP coverage, the victim must be diagnosed with an emergency medical condition, which is defined as being an injury that, without emergency care, might result in serious health risks, serious impairment of bodily functions or serious dysfunction of an organ or other body part. Moreover, diagnosis can only be made by a physician, dentist or advanced registered nurse practitioner. The new regulations also set limits on what services are covered under PIP and limits compensation for covered services – like x-rays or medical or surgical care – to 80%.

So what does this mean to accident victims? In short, it means that even when you are not responsible for an accident in which you’re injured, you still potentially face considerable medical costs. And that means that having an experienced attorney handle your case is more important than ever. Deciding to “go it alone” means you could be left with huge expenses that can have a substantial impact on your own quality of life. What’s more, the new time constraints make it imperative to hire an attorney as soon after the accident as possible to avoid having your rights severely limited.

At the Baird Law Group, we take pride in representing the rights of accident victims, and we’re ready to help you get the compensation you deserve. To learn more about how we can help you, call us today at 813-849-2679 to schedule a free consultation.